New Mexico squads place 2nd at MWC Championships
PDF Print E-mail
May 14, 2011 - COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.---When the smoke cleared, both lobo teams had finished as MWC runner-ups behind BYU and claimed several individual titles. The New Mexico men's squad finished  with 177 points. Air Force came in third with 139.5 points, while TCU posted 131 for fourth place. Colorado State (101.5) and Wyoming (40) finished fifth and sixth, respectively.

For the women, New Mexico scored 129 points to earn runner-up honors and TCU tallied 98 points for third-place accolades. San Diego State (87.5), UNLV (82), and Colorado State (69) placed fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively. Utah finished seventh with 68 points, while Wyoming (eighth, 56 points) and Air Force (ninth, 35.5) rounded out the final positions.

The Lobos controlled the women's 5,000-meter run, taking the first five spots. The Lobos' Natalie Gray set a new Jack Christiansen Track record, clocking in with a first-place time of 16:51.46. UNM's Sarah Waldron (16:55.54) placed second followed by Ruth Senior (16:58.21) in third, Kirsty Milner (17:00.74) in fourth and Delyth James (17:16.77) in fifth.

With a time of 13.64 seconds, Precious Selmon became the first New Mexico student-athlete to earn the MW's outdoor women's 100-meter hurdles title.

New Mexico freshman Django broke the MWC men's high jump season-high mark and set a personal best, clearing a height of 7'-1.75" (2.18m) to capture gold. Django's mark ranks third all-time in MWC outdoor history and is currently 16th best in the NCAA in 2011.

In the women's 3,000-meter Steeplechase, New Mexico senior Ruth Senior, last year's runner -up, crossed the finish line first in 10:34.50 to become the first Lobo to win the event in Conference history. Senior's time breaks the Jack Christiansen Track record, previously set by BYU's Rena Williams-Chesser in 2005. New Mexico junior Alex Darling (10:52.41) placed third.

Kendall Spencer took home the men's long jump title after recording a distance of 23'-10.75" (7.28m). The San Mateo, Calif., native becomes the fourth freshman to win the event in MWC history. In the men's 10,000-meter run, New Mexico junior Nicholas Kipruto earned first-place accolades after clocking a time of 32:42.73.

Amber Menke of New Mexico tied her own personal record of 13'-0.75" (3.98m) with her second-place effort in the pole vault competition.

New Mexico owned three of the four top spots in the 1,500-meter run, with David Bishop (3:57.11) in second, Ross Millington (3:58.28) in third and Rory Fraser (3:59.61) in fourth. The Lobos' Nicholas Kipruto, earned a second-place finish in the 5,000-meter run, with a time of 14:11.48.

York Captures Decathlon Title

New Mexico sophomore Richard York brought home the Lobos' fourth Mountain West Conference outdoor decathlon title with 7,212 points. York also claimed the indoor decathlon title in February.

York edged out Air Force's Michael Tibbs to earn his second consecutive MWC Decathlon title. Hailing from St. Clair, Mo., York started the day by finishing fourth in the 110-meter hurdles (15.27 seconds), sixth in the discus throw (97'-8.00" [29.76m]) and tied for second in the pole vault with a mark of 15'-1.75'' (4.62m). He followed those efforts by taking first in the javelin throw, recording a distance of 193'-10.00" (59.09m). York capped the second day of competition with a first-place performance in the 1,500-meter race, moving past the competition with a time of 4:46.58.

York is the first New Mexico athlete to win consecutive decathlon titles. The only other MWC athlete to do so was Curtis Pugsley of BYU who won the event in 2003 and 2004, respectively.

Tibbs earned runner-up honors with 7,017 points. The sophomore finished third in the 110-meter hurdles (15.26 seconds) and won the pole vault (15- 5.75" [4.72m]) on Thursday.

Brian Wilson of New Mexico (6,770) and CSU's Josh McMillin (6,587) earned third and fourth overall, respectively. Joshua Weirich finished fifth for BYU with a point total of 6,484, while fellow Cougar Phillip Bettis (6,297) finished in sixth place. New Mexico's Sam Porter (5,436) and CSU's Matt Collins (5,407) placed seventh and eighth, respectively.

Final Team scores (Men):
1. BYU - 212; 2. UNM - 177; 3. AFA - 139.5; 4. TCU - 131; 5. CSU - 101.5; 6. WYO - 40.

Final Team scores (Women):
1. BYU - 191; 2. UNM - 129; 3. TCU - 98; 4. SDSU - 87.5; 5. UNLV - 82; 6. Colorado State - 69; 7. Utah - 68; 8. Wyoming - 56; 9. AFA - 35.5.